Also In This Issue

@txamfoundation: Foundation News

Gibson Joins Board of Trustees

Kathleen Gibson ’81 of Dallas, an agricultural economics graduate from Texas A&M University and the president and CEO of Southwestern Medical Foundation, joined the Texas A&M Foundation Board of Trustees on July 1.

Prior to joining Southwestern Medical Foundation—a leading charitable corporation supporting advancement in medical education, research and care—Gibson spent 30 years in financial services, holding a number of leadership positions within Citibank and Bank of America.

Gibson and her husband Robert are generous benefactors to Texas A&M. In addition to being Endowed Century Club members of The Association of Former Students, the couple established the Jarvis E. Miller ’50 Excellence Fund for International Education in 2002 to support programs and activities within the Center for International Business Studies at Mays Business School. The gift honors Gibson’s father, who served as Texas A&M's president from 1977 to 1980.

Gibson has also given much of her time and service to the university: she previously served as chair of the board for The Association of Former Students, and she currently serves on the Center for International Business Studies Advisory Council and the Mays Business School Development Council. Outside of Texas A&M, Gibson has played an active role in community groups and civic engagement.

“It’s a privilege to welcome Kathleen Gibson to our Foundation team,” said Texas A&M Foundation President Tyson Voelkel ’96. “Kathleen has an exceptional history of innovation and leadership. We look forward to her perspective as we continue to evolve and grow our endowment and assist Texas A&M in solving global challenges.”

Gifts From Within

This is the last in a series of articles on Texas A&M Foundation employees who are committed to giving back to Texas A&M University.

For more than 16 years, Toni Dowling ’92 has served as executive assistant to the Texas A&M Foundation president—first under former president Ed Davis ’67 and now under Tyson Voelkel ’96.

In 2015, she established an Endowed Opportunity Award in honor of the 50th wedding anniversary of her parents Charles and Melva Waters, whose work ethic inspired her to pursue her dreams.

“I liked the idea of funding an Opportunity Award because they are often given to first-generation college students, like myself,” said Dowling. “My hope is that this scholarship will give someone else the chance to surround themselves with the amazing people at Texas A&M. I have been truly blessed by my time here, and I want someone else to know how much they can gain, personally and professionally, from this university.”

Dowling grew up in the small town of Buffalo, Texas, and later graduated from Texas A&M with a bachelor’s degree in journalism. “The opportunity my parents gave me in encouraging and helping pay for my education inspired me to make this gift,” she said.

Apart from her position at the Foundation, Dowling enjoys raising longhorn cattle with her husband Joe through their business Elite Bulls LLC.

Trustees Honor Outstanding Student

The Texas A&M Foundation Board of Trustees awarded Sarah Knop ’16 with its fourth Outstanding Student Award. The Austin native graduated with a 4.0 GPA in May with degrees in business honors and finance and a minor in economics. This fall, she will begin a position with the consulting firm Bain & Co.

Created in 2012 through an endowed gift from Susanne and Melbern Glasscock ’59, the award honors one exceptional graduating senior per year with $2,500.

During her time as a student, Knop served as CEO of the Titans of Investing, president of the Aggie Investment Club, director of the Horizons Program and as a board member for Startup Aggieland.

“Sarah stood out to us because she rose to the challenge of supporting her education through scholarships while simultaneously taking on active leadership roles at Texas A&M,” said George Hickox ’80, past chairman of the board. “Sarah’s professors and mentors all describe her as bright, curious and goal-oriented. These characteristics embody the spirit of this award.”

Off campus, Knop explored her entrepreneurial side by founding CircleShare, a marketing and media technology company. During her summers off, she held several business internships in investment banking, strategic planning and consulting.

To celebrate her accomplishments, she plans to use the award for a post-college adventure. “A highlight of my college experience was studying abroad,” said Knop, who spent a month in London after her sophomore year. “I want to use the money to help fund a trip and go somewhere new.


Four Employees Receive Service Awards

Four employees received the 2015 Texas A&M Foundation Trustees’ Award, which annually recognizes staff who exemplify the Foundation’s spirit and who work to promote its mission. Recipients receive a $500 cash award. This year’s winners were (left to right) Larry Zuber, assistant vice president for development for the College of Architecture; Suzanne Duke, real estate services assistant, who retired in March after 23 years at the Foundation; Sharon Sanders, document imaging specialist; and Andy Acker, assistant vice president for development for the College of Engineering.


Maroon Coats Inducted

The Texas A&M Foundation welcomed 23 new members into the ninth class of its student ambassadors organization, the Maroon Coats, this spring. The group consists of Texas A&M student leaders who enhance the impact of the Foundation through stewardship and service. New members of the 2016-2017 Maroon Coats are (back row, left to right) Blake Parsons ’16, Christopher Bybee ’17, Ross Bodeker ’17, Kai Jones ’17, Chris Wilder ’17, Tom Waldo ’13, J.J. Gustafson ’17 , Georgia Grace Osteen ’17, Garrett Notzon ’17, Alex Lambros ’17, Ifeanyi Anyaoha ’18, Ian Kocher ’17, Sebastian Lossner ’16, Justin Benavidez ’13 and Justin Martinez ’17; and (front row, left to right) Hope Miller ’17, Hannah Wimberly ’17, Madeline Kinnaird ’16, Maggie Malone ’16, Ana Gutierrez ’17, Nathalie Simoes ’17, Rebecca Polk ’18 and Sara Greaves ’18.